Michigan's Do-Not-Resuscitate Procedure Act

Under Michigan's Do-Not Resuscitate Procedure Act (the "Act") passed in 1996, a "do-not-resuscitate order" means a document executed in accordance with the Act, directing that in the event that an individual suffers cessation of both spontaneous respiration and circulation in a setting outside of a hospital, a nursing home, or a mental health facility owned or operated by the department of community health, resuscitation will not be initiated. An individual who is 18 years of age or older and of sound mind may execute a do-not-resuscitate order on his or her own behalf. Also, a patient advocate of an individual who is 18 years of age or older may execute a do-not-resuscitate order on behalf of that individual. The form for the do-not-resuscitate order is prescribed by the Act and set forth in MCLA 333.1054. The Act provides for the use of a do-not-resuscitate identification bracelet by an individual signing a do-not-resuscitate order. The Act also limits the civil and criminal liability of individuals complying with the terms of a "do-not-resuscitate order."