Frequently asked questions about Do Not Resuscitate Orders
Michigan has adopted a law entitled the MICHIGAN DO-NOT-RESUSCITATE PROCEDURE ACT (the "Act"), which was last amended effective February 4, 2014. Some frequently asked questions concerning the Act are addressed below:
What is a do not resuscitate order?
According to the Michigan do not resuscitate procedure act, a do not resuscitate order is defined as a document executed under the Act directing that, if an individual suffer cessation of both spontaneous respiration and circulation in a setting outside of the hospital, resuscitation will not be initiated.
Who may execute a do not resuscitate order?
An individual who is 18 years of age or older, and of sound mind may execute a do not resuscitate order on his or her own behalf.
May a patient advocate designated by an individual sign a do not
Who else must sign a do not resuscitate order?
The individual's attending physician.
Who is the attending physician?
The physician who has primary responsibility for the treatment and care of the tech the declarant.
Must a do not resuscitate order be witnessed?
Yes. Do not resuscitate order must be witnessed by two witnesses who are 18 years of age or older. At least one of whom is not the decrement spouse, parent, child, grandchild, sibling or presumptive heir.
Is there a prescribed form in which we do not resuscitate order can be completed?
Yes there is a prescribed form set out in the Act.
May a resuscitate order be revoked?
Yes, the court may revoke an order executed by himself or herself or executed in his or her behalf at any time in any manner by which he or she is able to communicate his or her intent to revoke the order.
Can a health professional, including paramedics, emergency medical technicians physicians, nurses and first responders rely upon a do not resuscitate order?
Yes if the health professional determines that the decrement has no vital signs, i.e. Paul's or evidence of respiration, and if the health professional determines that the at the current is wearing a do not resuscitate identification bracelet, or has actual notice of a do not resuscitate order for the decrement, he or she shall not attempt to resuscitate the current. In such case, the professional is not subject to civil or criminal liability for withholding resuscitative procedures.
What is the impact of a do not resuscitate order on life insurance?
Life insurer is prohibited from refusing to provide or continue coverage to the decrement, charge the decrement a higher premium, offer a decrement different policy terms because of the court has executed such an order, consider the terms of an existing policy of life insurance seven feature modify, or invoke a suicide or intentional death exemption or exclusion of the policy covering the decrement.
If you would like further information regarding the implementation of a Do-Not-Resuscitate Order, please contact us.